Which members have been in the Parliament since 1999?

Following the 2011 Scottish Parliament election, there were 37 Members who had served continuously since 1999.  In addition, a further 3 Members had served during all three sessions but not continuously.

As a result of the 2016 election, 19 Members have served continuously since 1999 and 2 Members have also served in the previous 4 sessions but not continuously[1].  Those Members who have served continuously since 1999 are shown in the table below.

MSPs serving continuously since 1999

Name Party Constituency Or Region
Jackie Baillie Lab Dumbarton (C)
Bruce Crawford SNP (Stirling (C)
Roseanna Cunningham SNP Perthshire South and Kinross-shire (C)
Fergus Ewing SNP Inverness and Nairn (C)
Linda Fabiani SNP East Kilbride (C)
Christine Grahame SNP Midlothian South, Tweeddale and Lauderdale (C)
Fiona Hyslop SNP Linlithgow (C)
Alex Johnstone Con North East Scotland (R)
Johann Lamont Lab Glasgow (R)
Lewis Macdonald Lab North East Scotland (R)
Ken Macintosh Lab West Scotland (R)
Michael Matheson SNP Falkirk West (C)
Alex Neil SNP Airdrie and Shotts (C)
Shona Robison SNP Dundee City East (C)
Tavish Scott LD Shetland Islands (C)
Elaine Smith Lab Central Scotland (R)
Nicola Sturgeon SNP Glasgow Southside (C)
John Swinney SNP Perthshire North (C)
Sandra White SNP Glasgow Kelvin (C)

[1] Richard Lochhead MSP resigned on 7 April 2006 to contest the Moray by-election which he won and was returned on 27 April 2006.  John Scott MSP was successful at the Scottish Parliament’s first by-election on 16 March 2000.