Which MSPs didn’t return for Session 5?

This post looks at which MSPs did not return for Session 5 because they either stood down or did not get re-elected.

MPSs who did not stand for re-election

Ahead of the 2016 Scottish Parliament election, 24 Members announced they would stand down and not seek re-election.  Amongst those stepping down was the Scottish Parliament’s Presiding Officer Tricia Marwick, the Presiding Officer during Session 3, Alex Fergusson and the former First Minister Alex Salmond.

The full list of Members who stood down is provided by alphabetical order in the following table.  (SPICe 2016).

Members who stood down prior to 2016 election

Name Party Constituency Or Region
Marco Biagi SNP Edinburgh Central
Gavin Brown Con Lothian
Cameron Buchanan Con Lothian
Margaret Burgess SNP Cunninghame South
Malcolm Chisholm Lab Edinburgh Northern and Leith
Alex Fergusson Con Galloway and West Dumfries
Rob Gibson SNP Caithness, Sutherland and Ross
Annabel Goldie Con West Scotland
Hugh Henry Lab Renfrewshire South
Adam Ingram SNP Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley
Colin Keir SNP Edinburgh Western
Kenny MacAskill SNP Edinburgh Eastern
Tricia Marwick NPA Mid Fife and Glenrothes
Margaret McDougall Lab West Scotland
Jamie McGrigor Con Highlands and Islands
Fiona McLeod SNP Strathkelvin and Bearsden
Duncan McNeil Lab Greenock and Inverclyde
Nanette Milne Con North East Scotland
Graeme Pearson Lab South Scotland
Alex Salmond SNP Aberdeenshire East
Mary Scanlon Con Highlands and Islands
Dr Richard Simpson Lab Mid Scotland and Fife
Drew Smith Lab Glasgow
Dave Thompson SNP Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch

MSPs who lost their seat at the 2016 election

In total, 26 MSPs lost their seat in the Scottish Parliament at the 2016 election.  The breakdown by political party of these members is as follows.

Number of MSPs losing seat by Political Party

Lost seats

The table below lists, in alphabetical order, the MSPs who lost their seat at the election.

Table 4: List of Members not returned in 2016 election

Name Party Constituency Or Region
Christian Allard SNP North East Scotland (R)
Jayne Baxter Lab Mid Scotland and Fife (R)
Sarah Boyack Lab Edinburgh Central (C)

Lothian (R)

Lesley Brennan Lab North East Scotland (R)
Chic Brodie SNP South Scotland (R)
Rod Campbell SNP North East Fife (C)

Mid Scotland and Fife (R)

Nigel Don SNP North East Scotland (R)
Jim Eadie SNP Edinburgh Southern (C)

Lothian (R)

Patricia Ferguson Lab Glasgow Maryhill and Springburn (C)

Glasgow (R)

Cara Hilton Lab Dunfermline (C)

Mid Scotland and Fife (R)

Jim Hume LD Ettrick, Roxburgh and Berwickshire (C)

South Scotland (R)

Mike Mackenzie SNP Highlands and Islands (R)
Hanzala Malik Lab Glasgow (R)
Paul Martin Lab Glasgow (R)
Stewart Maxwell SNP Eastwood (C)

West Scotland (R)

Margaret McCulloch Lab Hamilton, Larkhall and Stonehouse (C)

Central Scotland (R)

Alison McInnes LD North East Scotland (R)
Aileen McLeod SNP Galloway and West Dumfries (C)

South Scotland (R)

Michael McMahon Lab Uddingston and Bellshill (C)

Central Scotland (R)

Siobhan McMahon Lab Central Scotland (R)
Anne McTaggart Lab Glasgow (R)
Elaine Murray Lab Dumfriesshire (C)

South Scotland (R)

John Pentland Lab Motherwell and Wishaw (C)

Central Scotland (R)

Dennis Robertson SNP Aberdeenshire West (C)
Jean Urquhart Independent Highlands and Islands (R)
John Wilson Independent Central Scotland (R)