Who are the new members for Session 5?

51 new[1] Members were elected to the Parliament at the 2016 election to replace the 24 Members who chose not to seek re-election, the 26 Members who lost their seats and Margo MacDonald who died during Session 4.

The 2007 election saw 41 new Members elected and this rose to 48 new Members elected at the 2011 election.

Of the 51 new Members, 4 have previously served in the Scottish Parliament, Pauline McNeil, Mike Rumbles, Mark Ruskell and Shirley-Anne Somerville.  The breakdown by political party of new members is as follows:

New members by Political Party

New members

The table below lists, in alphabetical order, the new MSPs elected at the 2016 election (SPICe 2016b).

New Members from 2016 election

Name Party Constituency Or Region
Tom Arthur SNP Renfrewshire South (C)
Jeremy Balfour Con Lothian (R)
Miles Briggs Con Lothian (R)
Alexander Burnett Con Aberdeenshire West (C)
Donald Cameron Con Highlands and Islands (R)
Finlay Carson Con Galloway and West Dumfries (C)
Peter Chapman Con North East Scotland (R)
Alex Cole-Hamilton LD Edinburgh Western (C)
Maurice Corry Con West Scotland (R)
Ash Denham SNP Edinburgh Eastern (C)
Mairi Evans SNP Angus North and Mearns (C)
Kate Forbes SNP Skye, Lochaber and Badenoch (C)
Jeane Freeman SNP Carrick, Cumnock and Doon Valley (C)
Jenny Gilruth SNP Mid Fife and Glenrothes (C)
Maurice Golden Con West Scotland (R)
Jamie Greene Con West Scotland (R)
Ross Greer Green West Scotland (R)
Rachael Hamilton Con South Scotland (R)
Emma Harper SNP South Scotland (R)
Alison Harris Con Central Scotland (R)
Clare Haughey SNP Rutherglen (C)
Daniel Johnson Lab Edinburgh Southern (C)
Liam Kerr Con North East Scotland (R)
Monica Lennon Lab Central Scotland (R)
Richard Leonard Lab Central Scotland (R)
Gordon Lindhurst Con Lothian (R)
Dean Lockhart Con Mid Scotland and Fife (R)
Fulton MacGregor SNP Coatbridge and Chryston (C)
Rona Mackay SNP Strathkelvin and Bearsden (C)
Ben Macpherson SNP Edinburgh Northern and Leith (C)
Ruth Maguire SNP Cunninghame South (C)
Gillian Martin SNP Aberdeenshire East (C)
Ivan McKee SNP Glasgow Provan (C)
Pauline McNeil Lab Glasgow (R)
Edward Mountain Con Highlands and Islands (R)
Oliver Mundell Con Dumfriesshire (C)
Douglas Ross Con Highlands and Islands (R)
Gail Ross SNP Caithness, Sutherland and Ross (C)
Mike Rumbles LD North East Scotland (R)
Mark Ruskell Green Mid Scotland and Fife (R)
Anas Sarwar Lab Glasgow (R)
Graham Simpson Con Central Scotland (R)
Colin Smyth Lab South Scotland (R)
Shirley-Anne Somerville SNP Dunfermline (C)
Alexander Stewart Con Mid Scotland and Fife (R)
Ross Thomson Con North East Scotland (R)
Maree Todd SNP Highlands and Islands (R)
Adam Tomkins Con Glasgow (R)
Annie Wells Con Glasgow (R)
Brian Whittle Con South Scotland (R)
Andy Wightman Green Lothian (R)

[1] Members who were not serving at the conclusion of Session 4 were considered to be new Members.